All Things New

The world doesn’t talk much about sin, because it looks shiny and feels good, and we confuse sin with identity and don’t want to think of a God who wants to tear apart who we are.

Thing is, I’d like to be someone else.

Jesus said he came so we could have life and have it abundantly (John 10:10), and this is what I see in stories, the ones that mean something, the ones that are bursting with beauty and pain, life and death, and so much love, the ones that make me cry because I’m not sure my life will ever be so full.

I throw that kind of life away almost every day, because getting there seems uncomfortable. Because I am my own god. Because I have made myself so large I block out the light from the Father of Lights. (James 1)

Because I am sinful and a part of me wants to stay that way. Not all of me. But a part of me I can’t seem to get away from. I tear myself in two.

Something to remember: Jesus makes all things new. (2 Corinthians 5:17, Revelation 21:5).

I think one reason we don’t like the idea of sin is because we want to believe God is love. And he is. He is. He is. He is. But love doesn’t leave you where you are.

Jesus didn’t tell Lazarus he loved him and then leave him in his tomb. Jesus didn’t tell blind men he loved them and then leave them sightless. Jesus didn’t tell the prostitute about to be stoned that he loved her and then leave her to go back to selling her body.

He made them new.

Sin isn’t shiny in the end, and it doesn’t feel good, and it’s not who you are. I think part of the reason Jesus did so many physical miracles is to illustrate a point: that sin is a disease and a slavemaster, but Jesus is a healer and a breaker of chains.

Jesus came to set us free. He said, if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. (John 8:36) Free to have life and have it abundantly.

I don’t think the church is seen as free and full of abundant life like it should be. Sometimes Christians try to force people to follow rules instead of letting them meet Jesus. Sometimes the bible itself doesn’t seem inviting. Women feel trapped and silenced by verses that say they should be quiet and submissive.

I don’t have all the answers to when the bible is confusing. I feel those frustrations a lot myself. But I think mostly we’ve twisted God’s word to mean things it doesn’t.

You know what else the bible says about women? It says we should not fear anything that is frightening. (1 Peter 3:6)

I think Jesus wants to make me a heroine. I just have to let him.

2 thoughts on “All Things New

Leave a Reply

