(good news of great joy)

We pressed our hands into fossils cemented in rock;
we stood with our heads tilted into rain,
as the sun shone down on us,
like a moment sent from heaven

but sometimes I’m not happy even when I’m happy
the sun sets, and it isn’t enough
it’s never enough.

Everyone I know is scrambling for validation
in the dark we forget who we are,
so we seek our names on strangers’ lips, a blue thumbs’ up, the eyes of others as we tear them down.

How did we get like this?
It can’t have always been like this.

Maybe Eve never wanted anyone to give her flowers because they were already hers
a gift from the Maker who formed her out of the rib of a man who cried
bone of my bone
flesh of my flesh
when he saw her. What would it be like to feel wholly at peace, I wonder—
to know that worth is being formed from dust, having the breath of the Creator within you
O YHWH, how I long to know.

But one day everything broke in the garden,
when a serpent’s voice seemed louder than the Maker’s
and we thought we should become gods.

O Eve, I am your daughter and I doubt the goodness of our Father,
though we are the work of his hands
O Eve, I am your daughter and in this world the serpent’s voice roars louder
screaming that I need to be more

[Hands grasp at shining fruit;
Was belonging to the Creator not enough?
Did we think we could be more on our own?]

He said, in the day you eat of it you shall surely die
and your heart kept beating but Death was a crack that fear slid through
chest pounding so hard you barely heard the voice of your Father:
Where are you? Who told you that you were naked?

He sewed you clothes and sent you away from the garden—
rotting souls can’t dwell with the Giver of Life.

Now I live in this world of thorns and thistles
on earth that has tasted blood shed by its own brother,
angry and trying to prove his worth

We built a tower to make a name for ourselves;
we couldn’t remember what it felt like to have one given by the Lord of the heavens
We kept striving toward the sky,
striving to be gods—
forgetting to worship the One who commands the morning
and causes the dawn to know its place.

But he says,
How can I give you up?
How can I let you go?
How can I destroy you or demolish you?
My heart is torn within me, and my compassion overflows.

So he came to dwell among us: a man with no form or majesty to attract us,
only the words he said:
You are forgiven.
Your faith has made you well.
I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.
and as we nailed him to a cross
Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.

But death had no dominion over him.
Three days and he threw his bandages down,
walked out of his grave.

to call us his people, who were not his people
and us beloved, who were not beloved

a name again
a Father in heaven
the right to become children of God

this world is still full of thorns and thistles,
but he has blotted out our transgressions like a cloud
and our sins like mist

and one day, he will swallow up death forever;
the Lord God will wipe away tears from all faces

We will walk with him and know we belong,
for we his children were dead and are alive again;
we were lost and are found.

Leave a Reply

