A Shining and Affirmative Thing

I was going to share an old post today because I haven’t had much time to prepare one, but then last night I had the pleasure of reading G.K. Chesterton’s essay A Piece of Chalk. Every once in a while as an English major, I get to read some really great and beautiful things.

In the essay, Chesterton is drawing with colored chalk on brown paper, which he says makes one realize that white is a color.

“It is not a mere absence of colour; it is a shining and affirmative thing, as fierce as red, as definite as black,” he writes.

For the rest of this post, join me again at Together at the Table.

Together at the Table is a new blog created by a couple friends and I to bring our thoughts and perspectives together in one place. We are trying to each blog once a week, rotating which days we post on. I want to maintain my own blog as well, so I will probably be posting a truncated version of most of my posts here and then linking you over. But if you want to make things easier for yourself, subscribe to Together at the Table and read posts from my friends as well as myself!

Leave a Reply

